

Campus

David

Building

Village

Key Dates

Start of Abstract Submission: January 1st 2008

Deadline for Abstract Submission: *February 15th 2008*

Notice of Acceptance: March 31st 2008

Deadline for Early Registration with Discount: May 30th 2008

Deadline for Regular Registration without Extra On-Site Charge: *August 22nd 2008*

Conference begins: August 31st 2008

> 5 ICEC CenTACat School of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering David Keir Building Stranmillis Road Belfast, BT9 5AG

Fax: (028) 9097 6524 e-mail 5icec@qub.ac.uk

To receive updated information, please pre-register at: www.centacat.qub.ac.uk/5icec



5th International Conference on Environmental Catalysis in BELFAST 31st August to 3rd September 2008

www.centacat.qub.ac.uk/5icec

Queen's University's Elms Village accommodation, is 15 minutes walk from the conference venue.

Hotels are also available.



Plenary Lecture Topics

- 1. Automotive Emission Control (Professor Edward Jobson, Volvo, Sweden)
- 2. Renewables for Chemicals and Fuels (Professor Pierre Gallezot, CNRS, France)
- 3. Sustainability through Greener Processing (Professor Volker Hessel, Eindhoven The Netherlands)

Keynote Lecture Topics

- A. Catalysis for Clean Air and Water
- B. Catalysis for the Production of Clean Fuels
- C.Catalysis and the Challenge of Global Warming
- D.Catalysis in a Sustainable Fine Chemical Industry

Session Topics and (Session Chairs)

Automotive emission control (Professor Magnus Skoglundh)

Catalysis for the production of clean fuels, including from renewables (Professor Graham Hutchings)

Catalysis in a sustainable fine chemical industry, to include chemicals from renewables (Professor David Jackson)

Greener process intensification (Professor Asterios Gavriilidis)

Catalysis for clean air and water (Professor Gabriele Centi)

Catalysis for sustainable energy conversion, to include aspects of global warming and CO₂ removal/recycle *(Professor Martin Atkins)*

International Advisory Board

Dr. Paul Anastas	USA
Dr. John Armor	USA
Prof. Martin Atkins	UK
Prof. Jesus Blanco	Spain
Prof. Hans Blaser	Switzerland
Prof. Edd Blekkan	Norway
Prof. Michele Breysse	France
Prof. Gabriele Centi	Italy
Dr. Paul Davey	UK
Prof. Krijn de Jong	The Netherlands
Dr. Stan Golunski	UK
Prof. Eiichi Kikuchi	Japan
Prof. Can Li	China
Prof. In-Sik Nam	South Korea
Prof. Lars Pettersson	Sweden
Prof. Kohichi Segawa	Japan
Prof. Jerry Spivey	USA
Prof. Hugh Stitt	UK
Dr. Martyn Twigg	UK
Prof. Jens Weitkamp	Germany
Prof. Blanka Wichterlova	Czech Republic

Local Committee Chair

Prof. Robbie Burch

UK